Red Bull Cold Rush Brings Big Lines, Big Mountain and Big Air to the Ultimate BC Backcountry.

A three-day, three-discipline competition searches for the most versatile and best all-around skier.

People's Choice Award via online vote at

Thirteen of the world's best freeskiers will compete for the title of the most versatile and best all-around skier at Red Bull Cold Rush from March 16 - 18 at Retallack Lodge in British Columbia. The contest runs three days and delivers three components: Cliff lines, Big Mountain and Backcountry Big Air. The purest skiing will be judged by the purest votes: submitted by and exclusively the skiers themselves. Kicks on, pops in hand, each day's close will feature the skiers reviewing by video each others' performance and voting for their favorite. The total prize purse of $10,000 will deliver $4,000 to the overall winner and dropping a $1,000 for People's Choice Award.

Sean Pettit

Bringing the comp to the next level is this year's fresh face-slash-sport icon, Tanner Hall. Tanner leads an all-world crew, including JP Auclair, Kye Peterson, Pettit bros Sean and Callum, Sage Cattebraga-Alosa, and last year's champ, Boler-rolling Dave Treadway.

JP Auclair

And here is its golden itinerary: Red Bull Cold Rush will kick off with a slopestyle session, a trusty Freeride camera and our favourite photogs capturing all for the judging process. Voting flows as follows: Skiers act as judge and jury, with points awarded for each component: Backcountry Big Air - maximum 20 points; Freeskiing - max 40 points; Cliff Lines - max 40 points.

Dana Flahr

Anthony Boronowski

Red Bull Cold Rush Recount & Recut


This ain't Florida, and Al Gore isn't competing (that we know of...). But in the spirit of the 2000 US Presidential Election, we're having a good 'ol fashioned recount!

Well, it's actually a separate "election" altogether - The People's Choice Award - but you get the idea...

In partnership with, Red Bull Cold Rush is giving fans the chance to vote for who they think should be crowned king of the hill. Beginning March 20th, a video highlight of each competitor will be uploaded to where fans will have the chance to watch each athlete in action, then weigh-in with their choice for the People's Choice Award. Voting for the People's Choice Award will end at 11:59pm PST on March 27th.


Feeling creative? We've got the ultimate challenge.

Once fans have seen all the athletes in action and cast their vote, it's their turn to grab the footy and have at it!

During the voting period (March 20-27th), fans can download a handfull of footage made available on to create their own video highlight from Red Bull Cold Rush 2009.

Once the masterpiece is complete, all aspiring ski film makers can upload their creation to no later than 11:59pmPST on April 3rd, 2009.

Then it's up to the community to determine who they think "gots tha skills!" All submission will be open to a public vote, with a winner to be decided by the people on April 10th.

Athlete List

Mike Hopkins

Kye Peterson

Dane Tudor

Sage Cattebrega-Alosa

JP Auclair

Dave Treadway

Callum Pettit

Sean Pettit

Sven Kueenle

Cody Barnhill

Anthony Boranowski

Tyler Ceccanti

About Retallack Lodge

Located deep in the heart of the Selkirk Mountain range on the banks of the Kaslo River, Retallack offers a labyrinth of underground abandoned mining tunnels for the history buff, and 4,300 vertical feet of mountain surface detailed by chutes, glades and big lines - a perfect environment for mining the skills of today's most progressive skiers. Visit for more information. is where you will find all things Red Bull Cold Rush. Just's coming.

Until then, check out some a video from last year's event...