Austrian Freeski Open 2012 – The 10th Anniversary Edition!

On the 25th of January, 2003 the Austrian Freeski Open was born. Nine years have passed since then, and the event has seen a tremendous growth. During the upcoming season, the oldest continuing freeski contest will celebrate it's 10th birthday. For that reason, many athletes and spectators from the freeski scene will gather from the 7th - 11th of March in Zell am See-Kaprun for the third time in a row to choose their champion.

Andreas Håtveit. Photo by Bause

There is sure to be brilliant action going down when the best freeskiers in the world battle amongst themselves at 2500 meters above sea level in the Kitzsteinhorn Snowpark. Not only the athletes, but also the spectators will behold the breathtaking excitement and beauty that the Freeski Circus of Zell am See-Kaprun has to offer. Starting with the night-show and the legendary parties, there are many more reasons to highlight this weekend in your calendar, and be a part of the biggest birthday party this winter!

Andreas Håtveit. Photo by Christoph Schoech

Previous Winners of the Austrian Freeski Open:

2003 – Schröcken – Nico Zacek (GER)

2004 – Innsbruck – Martin Misof (AUT)

2005 – Innsbruck – Andi Prugger & Luggi Brucic (AUT)

2006 – Innsbruck – Russ Henshaw (AUS)

2007 – Mayrhofen – Kevin Rolland (FRA)

2008 – Mayrhofen – Kalle Leionen (FIN)

2009 – Mayrhofen – Elias Ambühl (SUI)

2010 – Zell am See-Kaprun – Jossi Wells (NZL)

2011 – Zell am See-Kaprun – Andreas Hatveit (NOR)

Previous Austrian Champions:

2003 – Schröcken – Martin Misof

2004 – Innsbruck – Martin Misof

2005 – Innsbruck – Andi Prugger (SS) & Luggi Brucic (QP)

2006 – Innsbruck – Martin Misof

2007 – Mayrhofen – Fabio Studer

2008 – Mayrhofen – Patrick Hollaus

2009 – Mayrhofen – Patrick Hollaus

2010 – Zell am See-Kaprun – Tommy Hupfauf

2011 – Zell am See-Kaprun – Patrick Hollaus

We are looking forward to seeing who will be the next AFO Champion!