Words by Andrew McIver

Photos by John Riddle & Gillian McIver

This past weekend Mt Seymour, BC played host to the second of four stops on The Canadian Shield Ski and Snowboard Slopestyle Tour. An unprecedented 160+ pre-registered athletes showed up for Friday's practice, making it clear that a tight battle for the $20,000 cash purse and prizing was to be expected for the weekend ahead.

The ski side of things went down on Sunday afternoon, which similarly to the snowboarders utilized a best of three run format. Ian Cosco was able to improve upon his second place finish at Mont Tremblant to take the pro open men's division win and $5,000, making him the current pro men's ski tour leader. His winning run consisted of a 270 disaster on the down-flat-down rail to a right cork 9 nose and a left switch 720 on the jumps, while the SBC Skier Magazine Standout Trick award went to Ahren Stein for a huge switch misty 1080.

Ian 'Chug' Cosco

In the women's pro open division, Yuki Tsubota once again took top honors and $2,000, also making her the current tour leader in her category. Her winning run included the SBC Skier Women's Standout Trick, a cork 7 mute.

Yuki Tsubota

The K2 Skis amateur open men's division was one of the day's largest fields and full of talent. Braedon Wheeler was able to secure the win on his second of three runs. He was joined on the podium by Ali Tracy, who took home the win in the K2 Skis amateur open women's division after competing in the pro open women's snowboard competition earlier in the day.

In the Disney XD X-Elerator + 13-15 division, the win went to Tommy Polomsky. with Jacob Shepansky in second, while the Disney XD X-Elerator 12 and under category was won by Todd Heard who put up high scoring runs throughout the competition.


Disney XD X-Elerator Boys 12 & Under

1) Todd Heard

Disney XD X-Elerator Boys 13-15

1) Tommy Polomsky

2) Jacob Shepansky

K2 Skis Amateur Open Women

1) Ali Tracy

K2 Skis Amateur Open Men

1) Braedon Wheeler

2) Avery Rankin

3) Logan Dobson

4) Malcolm MacDougall

5) Thomas Ruthowski

6) Dylan Bucher

7) Jarred Martin

7) Dean Wheeler

9) Thomas Roberts

10) Benjamin Neil

11) Miguel Rodden

11) Cody Ponting

13) Donnie Ottosen

14) Joe Woodruff

15) Greg Talbot

16) Will Finch

17) Wolff Jan-Philip

18) Patrick Rychter

19) Dylan Gillespie

20) Liam Ponton

20) Simon Stulberg

22) Trent Gammon

23) Josh Visser

Pro Open Women

1) Yuki Bubota

2) Emmanuelle Blanchet

3) Ashleigh Low

4) Cassandra Sharpe

5) Emma Whitman

6) Cassandra Ratcliffe

7) Sasha Chernenkoff

8) Nina Abramishvili

Pro Open Men

1) Ian Cosco

2) Jonas Hjohlman

3) Jordan Innes

4) Cam Smith

5) Quinn Waddell

6) Simon d'Artois

7) Kirby Sutherland

8) Tyler Wilson

9) Joe Schuster

10) Matt Brindisi

11) Evan McEachran

12) Keaton Carlson

13) Logan Pehota

14) Michel Granger

15) Mack Jones

16) Thomas Pool

17) Ahren Stein

18) Hunter Visser

19) Benjamin Ogilvie

20) Dominic Morneau-Grenier

21) Micahel Brush

22) Simon Gingras

23) Matt Crawford

24) Kieran Nikula

25) Jesse Matthews

26) Jaedon Schneider

27) Samuel Thackray

28) Max Heard

29) Brenden Reid

30) James Anderson

31) Alex Beaulieu-Mauchand

32) Riley Culver

33) Justin Jackson

34) Yukon Leever

35) Blake Cameron

36) Rob Heule

37) Bryce Barker

38) Zac Mousseau

39) Sam Ruttiman Sam

40 Liam Measuure Liam

41) Mitchell Wilson

The next stop of the Canadian Shield Ski and Snowboard Slopestyle Tour lands at Calgary's Canadian Olympic Park (COP) this coming weekend, February 24th - 26th. For event details and registration, be sure to check out thecanadianshield.ca.