The Winter Dew Tour will kick off its fourth season this week in Breckenridge, Colorado on December 15-18. The weekend’s events will bring the top names in freeski superpipe and slopestyle to the mountain, while helping to celebrate Breckenridge’s 50th anniversary.


Freeskiing game-changer Simon Dumont has come up short in his goal of winning the superpipe Dew Cup, landing in 2nd place since the Winter Dew Tour’s inception. He comes to Breckenridge with visions of the elusive title in his future, competing against Justin Dorey, Kevin Rolland and young phenom Torin Yater-Wallace, who dominated in the Gatorade Free Flow Tour before moving up to the pro ranks in 2010.

2010-2011 Dew Cup Superpipe Champion Kevin Rolland. Photo by Rocky Maloney


Heating up the freeski slopestyle course will be the technical expertise of 2010-11 Dew Cup Champion and local competitor Bobby Brown. He’ll have to defend his title against Alex Schlopy, who ended last season on top of the podium, and constant threat Sammy Carlson.

2010-2011 Dew Cup Slopestyle Champion Bobby Brown. Photo by Rocky Maloney


Taking the action off the mountain, the Winter Dew Tour concert series will treat snowboarders, skiers and hip-hop fans alike to a performance by one of rap’s most buzzed about and unique up and comers as Yelawolf and opening act The Knux take the stage. These Shady Records acts will be the perfect complement to Friday’s 50th Anniversary celebration in the town, with 100 percent of the ticket proceeds going to SOS Outreach.


The pre-qualified athlete list for Nike Open in Breckenridge is as follows...

Men's Ski Superpipe

Duncan Adams

Christian Allen

Xavier Bertoni

Noah Bowman

Justin Dorey

Simon Dumont

Alexander Ferreira

Gus Kenworthy

Thomas Krief

Matt Margetts

Dan Marion

Tucker Perkins

Mike Riddle

Kevin Rolland

Taylor Season

Benoit Valentin

Jossi Wells

David Wise

Torin Yater-Wallace

Men's Ski Slopestyle

Bobby Brown

Sammy Carlson

Phil Casabon

Joss Christensen

Simon Dumont

Robert Franco

Charles Gagnier

Alexis Godbout

Nick Goepper

Henrik Harlaut

Andreas Håtveit

Russ Henshaw

JF Houle

PK Hunder

Sean Jordan

Gus Kenworthy

Alex Schlopy

Dane Tudor

Tom Wallisch

Jossi Wells

Jacob Wester

McRae Williams

James Woods

Banks Gilberti, AJ Kemppainen, Justin Dorey, Russ Henshaw, Mike Riddle, Peter Olenick & Gus Kenworthy. Photo by Dan Brown

The full schedule of events for the Nike Open is as follows...

Thursday, Dec. 15th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00am

9:15 AM – 1:15 PM - Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Qualifier

11:00 AM – 2:00 PM - Men’s Freeski Superpipe Qualifier

2:15 PM – 4:00 PM - Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Qualifier

Friday, Dec. 16th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00am

9:15 AM – 10:15 AM - Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Semi-Final

9:45 AM – 12:00 PM - Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Semi-Final

10:15 AM - 12:00 PM - Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Semi-Final

1:45 PM – 4:00 PM - Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Semi-Final

Saturday, Dec. 17th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00am

10:00 AM – 11:30 AM - Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Semi-Final

11:30 AM – 12:30 PM - Men’s Freeski Superpipe Final

2:00 PM – 2:40 PM - Women’s Snowboard Superpipe Final

3:00 PM – 4:00 PM - Men’s Snowboard Superpipe Final

5:00 PM – 11:00 PM - Nike Chosen One Rail Jam / Yelawolf Concert at the River Walk

Sunday, Dec. 18th – Festival Village Opens at 9:00am

9:30 AM – 10:10 AM - Women’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final

10:30 AM – 11:30 AM - Men’s Snowboard Slopestyle Final

12:30 PM – 2:00 PM - Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Final


*Schedule is subject to change. To stay up to date on the action, follow live updates via the Dew Tour on Twitter.

Photo by Rocky Maloney


Running through the entire weekend, the Festival Village offers something for everyone attending the Dew Tour. Visit the Pantech tent to test out the newest cell phones, play pool or air hockey at Paul Mitchell, and grab a ride all weekend in one of Toyota’s free shuttles.For additional Winter Dew Tour event information, visit Visit the Dew Tour Facebook page and follow @thedewtour on Twitter for up-to-the-minute information on the latest Winter Dew Tour action.


The complete 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows...


Nike Open – December 15-18 at Breckenridge Ski Resort in Breckenridge, Colorado

Pantech Invitational – January 19-22 at Killington Resort in Killington, Vermont          

Toyota Championships – February 9-12 at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah

Mike Riddle, Kevin Rolland, Justin Dorey & Xavier Bertoni. Photo by Jeff Schmuck


Entering its fourth year, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2011-12 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at season’s end to champions in each of the eight disciplines. The 2010-11 Dew Cup champions include Louie Vito (men’s snowboard superpipe), Kelly Clark (women’s snowboard superpipe), Torstein Horgmo (men’s snowboard slopestyle), Jamie Anderson (women’s snowboard slopestyle), Kevin Rolland (ski superpipe) and Bobby Brown (ski slopestyle).The Winter Dew Tour continues its commitment to progression in action sports, with premier superpipes and the highest level slopestyle courses.

And here's a preview of the slopestyle course, courtesy of Banks Gilberti. Filmed by Jacob Wester.