Red Bull Cold Rush 2010 Brings Big Mountain, Slopestyle and Pillow Fight to the Ultimate Backcountry Freeski Competition

The definitive three-discipline competition brings together the world's best freeskiers in search of the most versatile and all-around skier. 


Retallack's steep and deep mountain landscape will play host to the fourth edition of Red Bull Cold Rush featuring the worldís best freeskiers. Twelve male skiers and, for the first time in the event's history, six of their female counterparts will compete for the title of the most versatile and best all-around skier at Red Bull Cold Rush from March 23-27, 2010. The three-discipline competition will deliver three components: Big Mountain, Slopestyle and Pillow Lines. 


Also new in 2010, skiers will be challenged by the slopestyle discipline as they will be performing at night and will relive the pillow-drop line through Niagara's rock garden. The purest skiing will be judged by the purest of voters: the skiers themselves. Kicks on, coldies in hand, each day's close will feature the skiers reviewing each other's performance by video and voting for their favorite. With over 4,000 vertical feet of mountain surface detailed by chutes, glades and big lines Retallack is the perfect environment for the skills of today's most progressive skiers.

The total prize purse of $14,500 will deliver to the men $5,000 for the winner, $3,000 for second, and $2,000 for third. The female winner will walk away with a cash purse of $3,500. An additional $1,000 will be awarded to either men or women for the People's Choice Award at    


Red Bull Cold Rush drops in:


Wednesday, March 24th: Slopestyle in the 2,000 vertical feet of pillows in the Mushroom Fields

Thursday, March 25th: Pillow Fight in the Niagara Zone

Friday, March 26th: Big Mountain descent from Texas Peak. 


Voting flows as follows: skiers act as judge and jury, with points awarded for each component: 


Slopestyle: maximum 35 points

Pillow Fight: maximum 30 points

Big Mountain: maximum 35 points.




Once fans have seen all the athletes in action and cast their vote, it's their turn to grab the footage and have at it!  In partnership with Newschoolers, Red Bull Cold Rush is giving fans the chance to download 10-15 minutes of footage made available on Monday, March 29th at to create their own video highlight from Red Bull Cold Rush 2010.


Once the masterpiece is complete, all aspiring ski filmmakers can upload their creation to no later than 11:59pm PST on April 4, 2010. Then it's up to the community to determine who they think brought the goods. All submission will be open to a public vote, with a winner to be decided by the people on April 9, 2010.


JP Auclair 

Kye Petersen

Anthony Boronowski

Richard Permin

Sage Cattabriga-Alosa

Callum Pettit

Dane Tudor 

Sean Pettit

Sven Kuennle 

TJ Schiller

Riley Leboe 

Dave Treadway



Ingrid Backstrom

Sarah Burke

Claudia Bouvier

Lynsey Dyer

     Grete Eliassen   

                                                               Michelle Parker                                                              


For more information about the Red Bull world of skiing, please go to For information on Retallack Lodge, please visit, and information about the event, the athletes and the event location, please go to, or become a fan at